Book Reviews · books

My favorite books of 2016

2016 started with a goal of reading 50 books. Then it turned into 60, 70 etc till 100 books was the final goal. While I don’t think I’ll reach 100 ( sitting on 98) I feel the need to share my top 10 books of the year.

I read a lot of YA, I have no excuse, I just like fluffy happy books. Every year I tell myself I’ll try something else but I always fall back on YA. So here’s my list in no particular order. Lastly I have to clarify that many of these books were not published in 2016, I just read them in 2016.

10. “Carry on” by Rainbow Rowell-  I had such a hard time picking up this book, I could not stop myself from comparing it to Harry Potter. I actually quit reading a few times, but a friend told me to carry on! That once a specific character showed up I would love it! And once he did, I did! Great read!

9. “Attachments” by Rainbow Rowell- I don’t think there’s a RR book I don’t like. This one however had me thinking her streak in my heart was over. Our main character falls in love with a girl basically by reading the email she sends to her friend every day. Yes it sounds creepy but RR makes it work! 

8. “Illuminae” by Amy Kaufman – This book was awesome! The plot sounds insane, the format looks weird but it all works! Our main character is living in a planet where company A has been illegally mining for years. Company B attacks this planet to take over. All the survivors are rushed away in 2 spaceships with company B in pursuit. They want no survivors. There’s also a sort of zombie outbreak and computer that kind of goes insane & starts killing people! Yes, it’s as insane as it sounds!

7. “Amy and Rogers Epic detour” by Morgan Matson- This book!!! I love it so much! Again it has a very cute gimmicks in its writing style. I think that’s what gets my attention. Still the story is sweet. Two kids that start off as strangers & during their coast to coast trip become more!!! Love it.

6. “The hidden oracle: The trials of Apollo ” by Rick Riordan- What’s not to love? We are back in the Percy Jackson universe ( he even makes a cameo!) Apollo is not an easy character to like at first, but seeing him grow and become a better person ( better god?) is the fun part. Also I love the concept behind the villains in this book!

5. “The Sword of Summer ( Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #1) by Rick Riordan- There’s so much to love in this book. You get all new characters that are not your usual heroes and Norse mythology (which I know nothing of so, I got to learn). I also love that like in the Percy Jackson world, the mythology has somehow mixed with our real world. So there’s all this wonderful things going on, but regular humans aren’t aware of it. Cant wait for the next book .

4. “The Kiss of Deception” by Mary E. Pearson- A princess runs away from her home on her wedding day. I love the main character in this book. She decided that this was not the life she wanted, so she left. She sets up a new life in a small town under a false name. Unfortunately there’s several people trying to find her. The jilted Prince she left behind, an assassin hired to kill her to start a war and a third party that also  wants her dead because she stole something from them. Yes, there’s a love triangle, but honestly there’s never any doubt of where her heart is. So I recommend this!!

3. “The Queens thief” by Megan Whalen Turner – Its hard to explain this book without giving too much away. A prisoner who boasted of being “The greatest thief in the world” finds himself in prison. He is given a chance to earn his freedom by going on a quest to find an ancient bury treasure. A treasure that no one is actually sure is real. So he and a group of men embark on this journey that was one of the best stories I read in a while.

2.”Murder in the Orient Express” by Agatha Christie – A classic that I somehow had managed to avoid for years. There’s a dead on a train and  the killer is one of the passengers. So its up to Hercule Poirot to get his man or woman.

1. “And then there were none” by Agatha Christie –  She’s the best! I love her mysteries and this one was close to perfect for me. The story is this: a group of people get invited to an island by a mysterious wealthy man that none of them know. These people are all hiding a their own dark secret and one by one they start dying. So the fun is figuring out who is killing them. I was guessing till the last page!

So this is my list, I have several other books that I started in 2016 but i have not finished that have full potential of becoming favorites for me. So here’s to 2017 and many good books.

Leave a Reply

